instagram: my nicotine patch

16 Mar

So I’m still keeping my new years resolution: no Facebook for a year, at least.

A co-worker was nudging me to go back on the website so she can invite me to networking functions. I told her there’s email, but she had become accustomed to using the events and messages in Facebook. Her suggestion tempted me, but I became used to not logging on Facebook because my social life is not exciting to begin with.

If someone’s having an awesome milestone moment in his life, I rather hear it directly from him (even if it’s a decade later) than have Facebook shoving fifty poignant moments in my face.

In the linked post above, I noted Yelp as my nicotine patch. It did help at the time, but I quickly lost interest in it. I still check-in and will get around to writing reviews for the places I’ve been to.

*

As you may have already figured out from this entry’s title, I’ve decided to get back to Instagram. It wasn’t in my new year’s resolution, and so it’s good to go.

I actually had considered deleting the account as to avoid social networks much as possible. My finger hovered over the “Delete” button.

But I couldn’t. Maybe it was because it has the same name as my blog or it might be worth millions on some perverse auction bidding on people’s social accounts. Or I like to continue capturing snapshots in my life and see it unfold as a visual collage of who I am.

I will refrain from linking my Instagram with my WordPress. My reason: my blog is for thoughtful posts and the occasional comics and illustrations, and if the reader is interested, there’s my Instagram account.

Leave a Reply

